Thursday, February 13, 2014

The Daddy Pact: By Kristy K. James (The Coach's Boys Series: Book One)

  The Daddy Pact by Kristy K. James is the first installment of her series The Coach's Boys. This book was impressive for a free download. James gives us some pretty strong lead characters,Jess and Dan, and a wide range of deep emotions.
  This was not the light read  I was hoping for when I started it. This book is pretty deep, with characters dealing with grief, loss, anger, suicidal thoughts and then hope, joy and love.  The emotions are wrote well and will get you wrapped into the story. It did get a little slow in the middle, to me, but I do love action. No action here, just constant drama.
   I have no warnings to give for this book. There is no sex, drinking, drugs, or graphic violence. It's only implied. I would say it is a mature novel and not for children or younger teens, due to the nature of the deep emotions and implied sexuality.
 Overall The Daddy Pact is a good read, and a great free read. Also, it is part of a series and I am sure the rest of the series will be just as heart tugging as the first.

The Coach's Boys Series: By Kristy K. James
Book One: The Daddy Pact
Book Two: A Hero For Holly
Book Three: A Harry Situation
Book Four: Her Best Friend Jon
Book Five: Code Red Christmas

GENRES: romance, contemporary romance
WARNINGS: not a light read
AGES: 16+ (maturity level)

Thanks, and Happy Reading!

Monday, February 10, 2014

Play Hard: Box Set by V.K. Sykes, Juliana Stone, and Jennifer Lyon

  Play Hard is a box set containing three different novels by three different authors. All of the books revolve around sports but they aren't connected in any other ways. Each book had completely different characters and plot lines. Also, they each are the start of their own series.
  The first book in the box is Fastball by V.K. Sykes. Fastball is about Jake Miller, professional baseball player, and sportswriter Maddie Leclair breaking the rules. Next, we have Offside by Juliana Stone. In Offside, former Olympic hockey player Billie Jo Baker returns to her small hometown and stirs up all kinds of trouble. Last in the set is The Proposition by Jennifer Lyon.  The Proposition tells us the story of retired UFC Fighter Sloane Michaels and the unsuspected trouble he finds when he falls for baker Kat Thayne.
  Overall I really enjoyed all of the books. Good characters, pretty good stories. I only noticed a few errors, and they were not major. There where a few name mix up's and that messes with my concentration, any only a very few grammatical errors. Really, for a free download, the books are pretty good compared to most that are out there and you get three.
  My warning on the set are basic; contains sex, drinking, language, and a little violence. Also, as I mentioned earlier, each book starts its own series by that author. I am putting this as a warning because if you are like me when you start a series you have to read whole thing.
Play Hard Box set contains:
Fastball: V.K. Sykes
Offside: Juliana Stone
The Proposition: Jennifer Lyon

Here's what I've come up with on the series.
The Philadelphia Patriots Series: V.K. Sykes
(V.K. Sykes is two people! Husband and wife, Vanessa Kelly and Randy Sykes.)

The Barker Triplets: Juliana Stone

The Plus-One Chronicles: Jennifer Lyon
The Proposition

GENRE: romance,
AGES: 18+
WARNINGS: drinking, language, graphic sex, and a little violence.
SERIES: yes!
            Thanks and Happy Reading!!!

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

The Breathless Trilogy: By Maya Banks

  Well folks,  I'm back and I absolutely love The Breathless Trilogy by Maya Banks. (I have read them all twice.)  They all have the great unique characters that I praise so often, but they are also, well, spicy. Very spicy.
   The first book in the trilogy is Burn, and it tells Gabe's story. Fever, the second novel, is about Jace. Third in the trilogy is Rush, which is Ash's story. Gabe, Jace and Ash are best friends and very successful business partners. But don't let me leave out that they are all extremely sexy, dominant billionaires.  When I said spicy, like whew, people you might need to keep a fire extinguisher handy.
  Each book has it owns unique story and plot line. New drama, laughs, and even some action. But they all revolve around Gabe, Jace, Ash and the family they make themselves. The characters carry throughout the series and you're introduced to new ones along the way. And Maya Banks rocks on characters. You will love them.
   The books are great and could be read "stand-alone," though I think they are best when read in order. Plus, I really don't think you can just read one without wanting to read the whole series. Be advised, there is graphic language, some violence and drinking, and lots of graphic sex. Not just plain ole' sex. Naughty stuff, like "tie-me up and spank me" stuff that will have you hiding you're Kindle when someone passes by. Shades of 50 Shades, but not really... Not for everyone I know, but you can skim over those parts, right? ;)
   I will shut-up now and just say, I loooove anything by Maya Banks. Also, I now have a whole new perspective of "Girls Night Out."

Reading Order:
Burn (Gabe)
Fever (Jace)
Rush  (Ash)

GENRES: romance, contemporary romance
WARNING: some violence, drinking, and kinky sex.

 Thanks & Happy Reading!